Skip to Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Content
Search All Centers

Coronavirus Live Ask the Expert Webinars

Coronavirus Live Ask the Expert Webinars

Published on March 30, 2020

Recognizing that Patient Power serves the 20 percent of the public at higher risk of complications from the coronavirus – like many on our own team - we are launching a new series of live Ask the Expert broadcasts. They are free, and there's no need to register in advance. These programs will be a combination of broadcasts for people affected by specific cancers and other programs that will benefit all people and families affected.

In all cases, we’ll have top experts and inspiring guests with specific information and tips you can use.  We welcome your questions. You can send questions and comments/suggestions anytime to [email protected] or via Twitter using #AskPatientPower. During the live broadcasts, you can use the link on Zoom to submit a question. We’ll try to answer as many as possible. 

As you can imagine, the medical experts are super busy, and we are grateful to them for volunteering their time. Thanks in advance for joining us for the programs that are most appropriate for you, and we wish you and your loved ones and neighbors the best of health! 

Upcoming Webinars

 

Coronavirus: Lung Cancer Trials in the Time of the Coronavirus Crisis

Wednesday, April 8 at 11 AM Pacific Time/2 PM Eastern Time

Join expert Dr. Sandip Patel (UCSD)  to discuss clinical trials for lung cancer patients and what impact the coronavirus may have on these important research programs. Please send your questions in advance to [email protected]

Click here for the live program on Wednesday, April 8 at 11 AM Pacific Time/2 PM Eastern Time

 

Coronavirus: Radiation for Breast Cancer: What Happens Now?

Thursday April 9 at 10AM Pacific Time/1 PM Eastern Time

Join Dr. Catherine Park, specialist in radiation oncology (UCSF) as she discusses issues and concerns for breast cancer patients facing radiation treatment in this time of the coronavirus crisis. Please send your questions in advance to [email protected]

Click here for the live program on Thursday, April 9 at 10 AM/ Pacific Time/ 1 PM Eastern Time

 

Coronavirus: What Should Acute Leukemia Patients Know About the Coronavirus?

Thursday, April 9 at 2 PM Pacific Time/5 PM Eastern Time

Join two leading experts from MD Anderson, Houston - Dr. Tapan Kadia and Dr. Naval Daver - as they discuss the issues and concerns patients and loved ones dealing with acute types of leukemia might have in the current coronavirus crisis. Please send your questions in advance to [email protected]

Click here for the live program on Thursday, April 9 at 2 PM Pacific Time/5 PM Eastern Time

 

Coronavirus: Melanoma Concerns: Am I at Risk During the Coronavirus Crisis?

 Friday, April 10 at 10 AM Pacific Time/ 1 PM Eastern Time

Join melanoma specialist Dr. Sapna Patel, Associate Professor, Department of Melanoma Medical Oncology at MD Anderson,  as she helps us sort through issues and concerns melanoma patients have during the coronavirus crisis. Please send questions in advance to [email protected]

Click here for the live program on Friday,  April 10 at 10 AM Pacific Time/ 1 PM Eastern Time

 
Past Webinars

 

Coronavirus: CLL Ask the Expert LIVE

Friday, April 3 at 9 AM Pacific Time/12 PM Eastern Time

Dr. Nicole Lamanna (Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine, Columbia University Medical Center) joined us for our second live CLL Ask the Expert program to discuss issues and concerns related to the coronavirus.

VIDEO REPLAY AND TRANSCRIPT COMING SOON

Coronavirus: CML Ask the Expert LIVE

Thursday, April 2 at 12 PM Pacific Time/3 PM Eastern Time

CML specialist Dr. Michael Mauro (Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center) joined us to issues and concerns about the coronavirus.

WATCH THE REPLAY AND READ THE TRANSCRIPT

Coronavirus: Myeloma Ask the Expert LIVE

Thursday, April 2 at 9 AM Pacific Time/12 PM Eastern Time

Dr. Robert Orlowski, Director of Myeloma at MD Anderson, Houston joined us to discuss issues and concerns about the coronavirus as it may impact myeloma patients and survivors.

WATCH THE REPLAY AND READ THE TRANSCRIPT

Coronavirus: Lymphoma Ask the Expert LIVE

Wednesday, April 1 at 10 AM Pacific Time/1 PM Eastern Time
Dr. Joshua Brody, from Mount Sinai Health System, joined us to address issues and concerns of lymphoma patients and care partners related to the impact of the coronavirus. 

WATCH THE REPLAY AND READ THE TRANSCRIPT

Coronavirus: Prostate Cancer Ask the Expert LIVE

Friday, March 27 at 9 AM Pacific Time/12 PM Eastern Time
Prostate cancer expert Dr. Eleni Efstathiou, from MD Anderson Cancer Center, joined us to discuss questions and concerns about the coronavirus impact on prostate cancer patients. 

WATCH THE REPLAY AND READ THE TRANSCRIPT

Coronavirus: Lung Cancer Ask the Expert LIVE

Thursday, March 26 at 10 AM Pacific Time/1 PM Eastern Time
Lung cancer expert Dr. Ross Camidge from the University of Colorado Cancer Center joined us to answer questions about the issues and concerns lung cancer patients and their loved ones have about the coronavirus. 

WATCH THE REPLAY AND READ THE TRANSCRIPT

Coronavirus: MPN Ask the Expert LIVE

Wednesday, March 25 at 2 PM Pacific Time/5 PM Eastern Time
MPN experts Dr. Ruben Mesa and Dr Robyn Scherber joined us to discuss issues and concerns arising from the coronavirus pandemic specifically for MPN patients.

WATCH THE REPLAY AND READ THE TRANSCRIPT

Coronavirus: Breast Cancer Ask the Expert LIVE

Wednesday, March 25 at 10 AM Pacific Time/1 PM Eastern Time
Breast cancer expert Dr. Julie Gralow, from the University of Washington and Seattle Cancer Care Alliance, joined us to discuss issues and concerns that could impact breast cancer patients during this pandemic.

WATCH THE REPLAY AND READ THE TRANSCRIPT

Coronavirus: MPN Ask the Expert LIVE

Thursday, March 19 at 1 PM Pacific Time/4 PM Eastern Time
Are MPN patients at higher risk for complications? Should we be tested earlier? Do we have to worry about receiving refills of our medicines, are supplies disrupted? We’ll tackle these questions and more with Dr. Naveen Pemmaraju, MD from MD Anderson Cancer Center. 


WATCH THE REPLAY AND READ THE TRANSCRIPT

Coronavirus: How Families Can Cope

Thursday, March 19 at 11 AM Pacific Time/2 PM Eastern Time
Jennifer Abraham is a licensed family therapist, a high-risk CLL patient and a single mom with two teenager daughters. With young people at home and the stress of her own cancer worries, how is she coping, and what advice does she have for you? She welcomes your questions and your own tips we can share!

WATCH THE REPLAY AND READ THE TRANSCRIPT

Coronavirus: Myeloma Ask the Expert LIVE

Wednesday, March 18 at 2:30 PM Pacific Time/5:30 PM Eastern Time 
If you are receiving infusions of myeloma medicines, is coming to the clinic risky? Should a treatment plan be changed? Do the medicines diminish immunity? Two experts took questions: Nina Shah, MS, UC San Francisco, and Larry Anderson, MD, UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas.

WATCH THE REPLAY AND READ THE TRANSCRIPT

Coronavirus: CLL Ask the Expert LIVE

Wednesday, March 18 at 12:30 PM Pacific Time/3:30 PM Eastern Time
Rather than CLL being the “good” cancer to have, are CLL patients especially at higher risk for serious complications from coronavirus? If so, what should we do? Guests included two CLL specialists: Justin Taylor, MD, Memorial Sloan-Kettering in New York City, and Farrukh Awan, MD, UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas.
 

WATCH THE REPLAY AND READ THE TRANSCRIPT

You might also like